Booking Through Thursday: Writing Challenge

First, a little bit about Booking Through Thursday, since this is my first time participating. Booking Through Thursday is a weekly “assignment” for book bloggers. It gives us something interesting to write about and see what other’s think on similar topics. Some past questions have been: “When somebody mentions “literature,” what’s the first thing you think of?” and “While acknowledging that we can’t judge books by their covers, how much does the design of a book affect your reading enjoyment?”

I thought this looked like fun, so I subscribed to the blog and this is my first post.

The challenge this week:

  • Pick up the nearest book. (I’m sure you must have one nearby.)
  • Turn to page 123.
  • What is the first sentence on the page?
  • The last sentence on the page?
  • Now . . . connect them together….
    (And no, you may not transcribe the entire page of the book–that’s cheating!)

Answer:

From Page 123 of The Innocent Man by John Grisham: “He never wavered, in spite of some yelling and bullying from the cops, who said over and over that they knew Ron was guilty … Surely they’ve got the wrong one.”

At first, I thought this challenge was to make something up for what comes between these to sentences, but as I looked at other people’s blogs I saw that they had just put the two sentences next to each other to see what kind of meaning could be gleaned from them. I was planning on still going with my original instinct, but as I’m feeling sleepy today, I’ve decided to take the easy way out. I think the two sentences above, together, are pretty interesting. But if you want to see a good blogger who actually wrote a story to connect her two sentences, go here.

What does you nearest book say on P. 123?

Published in: on April 11, 2008 at 5:18 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theinsidecover.wordpress.com/2008/04/11/booking-through-thursday-writing-challenge-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. From “Thanks!” by Robert Emmons: “Hurricane Katria slammed into the Gulf Coast in last August of 2005 … Over the Internet, they made an offer to open their home to hurricane refugees.”

  2. I read “The Innocent.” Sad story, but great book about it.. really good.

  3. Re: The Innocent Mant: I know! I can’t put it down. I started it yesterday and I only have 50 pages left. The problem is I was supposed to write two articles today but ended up reading for hours instead … I guess I’m working the weekend.

  4. Isn’t that funny how so many people saw the challenge in a different way? I thought your two sentences went well together. Thanks for visiting my blog.

  5. Hahaha!! YOU were right on this one…and many of us were wrong.


Leave a Reply

